Testimonials

Reviews and Testimonials

We always welcome feedback to keep ensuring we are providing a 5* service. Please browse our feedback comments below.

If you have been a guest with us and you would like to leave feedback, please click on the Write a review button below:

Liz Ellis
Liz Ellis
2023-07-22
Lovely little cottage everything we needed
Martin White
Martin White
2023-06-15
We had a fantastic stay here. The owners are lovely, helpful and give a warm welcome. The retreat is also brilliant in terms of the quality of accommodation. The setting is lovely and the garden is great - our kids made full use of the trampoline.
Laura
Laura
2024-04-01
We had a wonderful time here! It's such a little gem. Sharon and her husband are so friendly and helpful, and the welcome book they've put together has so many good recommendations, we particularly loved the list of all the dog friendly places to go! Accommodation was spotless and had more than enough amenities, even ones we never expected to have! it also has a great area with ponies, chickens and a little play area for kids. Whilst in fairly secluded lane, it was a great location, you could see all the stars and it was so peaceful, and not far from the town at all, or something beautiful walks. The Easter gift bag was a lovely touch too! Thank you so much, when we next head to IOW we will be sure to look for Sharon's accommodation again!
Sam
Sam
2023-10-28
This is our second stay at Hillside Retreat. Sharon & John are great hosts, very attentive, informative and caring. Generally nice people to deal with and speak too. The location suits us and we felt extremely comfortable during our stay. communication was fantastic, proir to our stay. Highly recommended and we look forwardto a return visit with you in the future.
Teresa
Teresa
2023-08-12
Had a lovely time. Lovely little place in beautiful surroundings. Sharon was very helpful and the kids loved the outdoor bit to play in! Loads to do in the surrounding area. A really lovely week with the family.
James
James
2023-08-03
Had a lovely 5 night stay at hillside farm retreat with the family. The cottage was great, had everything you could possibly need and more...spotlessly clean and a little welcome gift of eggs, biscuits and milk were there for our arrival.The kids loved meeting all the animals, especially Pippa! And enjoyed the trampoline in the garden too.Sharon and John were fantastic hosts, welcoming, friendly and helpful. Thank you once again for letting us stay...we cannot fault a single thing x
Alan
Alan
2023-07-29
The hosts were friendly and approachable. The apartment was as described. Our stay was very enjoyable, despite some rain and clouds.
Sally
Sally
2023-05-14
Sharon and her partner were very friendly and accommodating. The lodge was lovely. It was also clean and had everything we needed. It’s a peaceful location in a beautiful part of the island. We all really enjoyed the stay! Thank you
Tracey
Tracey
2023-04-27
The accommodation is lovely and cosy, ideal for a couple and including dogs. Everything is provided and Sharon is on hand to answer any questions. It was lovely to have walks and a bridleway on the doorstep! The only thing it doesn't have is an enclosed area for dogs, so just remember to clean them when you get back using the hose provided. We loved Mottistone Gardens, National Trust and dogs can enjoy the walks too. We have really enjoyed it and will recommend to family/friends.
David
David
2023-04-14
We really enjoyed our brief stay with Sharon, who is extremely welcoming.Sharon was happy to show us her beautiful pet ponies and also to chat, without being ‘in our faces’ at all. The location is stunning and you can really tell that Sharon takes a pride in the presentation of the accommodation. Well equipped, comfortable and practical!
Joshua
Joshua
2023-04-05
We’re a small family with two little ones and Hillside Farm Retreat was perfect for us - private, safe, cosy, everything we needed, well located to get most places on the Isle of Wight plus a great play area, friendly animals and some amazing views in the surrounding area. The host was really friendly and helpful - responsive to our requests and even proactive in helping us prep for our trip. Would definitely recommend for young families and couples who are looking to explore the Isle of Wight.
Kaj
Kaj
2023-02-14
Hillside retreat is a fab place to stay with great hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. Sharon was great to communicate with and both Sharon and John were so friendly! We will come back! The accomodation is in a beautiful setting, it was so warm and cosy with lots of kitchen equipment, milk and biscuits, lots of information about the area. The toy area for the kids in the garden was excellent. My children would have spent all day there if they could. Please check out the local beaches! Lots of vegan cafes on the island too.

Testimonials

…from our Guest Book

“We had a wonderful time here! It’s such a little gem. Sharon and her husband are so friendly and helpful, and the welcome book they’ve put together has so many good recommendations, we particularly loved the list of all the dog friendly places to go! Accommodation was spotless and had more than enough amenities, even ones we never expected to have! It also has a great area with ponies, chickens and a little play area for kids. Whilst in fairly secluded lane, it was a great location, you could see all the stars and it was so peaceful, and not far from the town at all, or something beautiful walks. The Easter gift bag was a lovely touch too! Thank you so much, when we next head to IOW we will be sure to look for Sharon’s accommodation again!

Laura March 2024

“Dear Sharon & John,
Below is our review following our recent stay for your website:
The Retreat at Hillside Farm was the perfect place for us all to truly relax and unwind from our hectic day jobs and school! The cottage is set in a beautiful, quiet hillside location with stunning views and is equipped with everything you could need – and more!
Sharon and John (and not forgetting Pippa) were amazing hosts and shared lots of ideas of places to visit including the numerous beaches, pubs for great food and drink, walks and not forgetting the best ice cream parlour on the Island – Crave in Ventnor!
We simply ran out of time to visit everything and we loved it so much that we have already re-booked for 2 weeks next year to stay in their newest dwelling, The Stable.”

Michael, Kimberley, Joseph & Lucy, September 2023

“Hi Sharon, really good few days on the Island, your property was ideal for us, thanks for everything, we found the coffee stop at the Ferry port – good recommendation, Andy, Deborah and the dogs”

Andrew, September 2022

“Beautiful holiday home in a peaceful location. Our hosts made us welcome and were on hand for advice about directions/suggestions for places to go. Our toddler loved the play area and being able to say hello to the animals. Would thoroughly recommend!”

Zoe, August 2022

“It is a great place in every sense: good location, nice hosts, nicely decorated place with everything you need and cute animals at the farm. We especially loved the trampoline and Wendy House full of toys 🙂 if we come back to the Isle of Wight we will definitely stay there again. thank you”

Laurence, August 2022

“Thank you Sharon! We had a fantastic time and I couldn’t fault our stay at all. Extremely clean and tidy, ideally situated for Black Gang Chine, and a friendly service. Very welcoming and a lovely garden with animals.
Highly recommend – we’ll be back again!”

Abbie, August 2022

“Lovely little spot for our break. Very handy to have a cot and high chair for our daughter. She thoroughly enjoyed meeting the animals and playing with Pippa the dog. Very clean and quiet apart from one windy night!”

Elizabeth, July 2022

“We had a warm welcome at Sharon’s and the facilities and setting were good for the price paid. The location is near the wilder more natural beaches on the South of the island which we enjoyed.”

Squirly July, 2022

“We spent a few days here with our 4 month old daughter for her first holiday. Sharon was very accommodating and helpful and the place was perfect for what we needed. The walks from the front door are stunning, and there’s so much to see and do nearby.”

Emily, July 2022

“Beautiful area, very clean great to get away from loads of people. lovely to spend time with the animals. would recommend to anyone.”

Joanne, June 2022

“In a Lovely spot this is a nice little getaway place this. Sharon’s a lovely host and really helpful if you need any ideas or such. Nice local village and shop near by and surrounding pubs.”

Olly, June 2022

“Fabulous stay in such a lovely place. Couldn’t of been any cleaner it was spotless. Everything you needed was at hand, lovely hosts that make you feel home away from home. What a beautiful location as well, amazing place to stay for  a couple to enjoy walks and even better with a dog. There is a new cottage being built that will take a family and that looks like it will be equally as tastefully constructed. Your literally on the footpath for the downs with amazing views across the countryside. We made a circular walk from the retreat to the pub the Wight mouse where we had a really lovely lunch. The area is littered with footpaths and the military road has hidden coves to explore, such a beautiful part of the island. We will definitely be returning in the future as it’s a perfect bolt hole.”

May 2022

“Good location. Nice and warm for a winter stay. Bed very comfortable. Overall a good find as far as we were concerned.”

Barry, February 2022

“Had a great gateway for 2 nights and 3 days.
The hostess Sharon and her husband were very welcoming and their cute dog made our stay more pleasant.
The location is a little difficult to find and a bigger sign for the state; but, on the other side of the road would be helpful.
Overall, very clean and comfortable stay with lots of laughs and wonderful memories.
They offer a range of great services such as massages. Although we didn’t get the chance to try it this time, we’ll come back during spring or summer for a longer holiday.
Recommend it to couples like us for a short stay, or families and friends for a fun getaway.
Thank you!”

Behina, January 2022

“We loved staying at Sharon’s little cabin, kids played and run wild despite the weather. The place is very well equipped and organised. Very cosy and inviting. Sharon and John are very welcoming hosts looking after their guests needs.”

Anna, January 2022

“We loved staying at Sharon’s little cabin, kids played and run wild despite the weather. The place is very well equipped and organised. Very cosy and inviting. Sharon and John are very welcoming hosts looking after their guests needs.”

January 2022

“Sharon & John were fantastic hosts, the property was spot on and very well equipped with everything you could need. It was clean, modern and fresh. They were extremely welcoming as was Pippa (the dog) it was peaceful and they were very attentive. Can’t recommend them enough. Thank you so much for letting us experience a fantastic stay. We hope to return without a doubt.”

Sam, October 2021

“Great accommodation, well furnished with a homely touch. Perfect for 2 adults, 6 year old and a small dog. We loved that it was close to Ventnor and Blackgang Chine (visited 3 times in 3 days…). Niton village is a short walk and The White Lion is superb for eating out (inc. dog!).”

Catherine, October 2021

“Very cute and cosy place! Very peaceful and a nice location for us, travelling anywhere took max. 30 mins. Sharon is a great host, fab with communication and super helpful. thanks again for a lovely stay.”

Olivia, October 2021

“We had a lovely stay at Hillside with our 3-year-old.
Sharon was great at responding to any queries we had and we will hopefully be back again!”

Louise, October 2021

“Sharon is outstanding host and she gos out of her way to make your stay memorable. The cottage is situated in a farm, with a play area and fantastic views. Everything you need is on the doorstep. The accommodation is super clean with a wonderful shower! TV, wi fi, equipped kitchen. We have 7 yrs old son who loved to play with farm animals and our dog was so happy running around the fields just outside the gates. We would without hesitation come back to visit this lovely family. I also had a beauty treatment in Sharon’s salon which is just next to the cottage. I had a facial and body massage and pedicure done. Sharon is very professional and it well worth it to book a treatment before your arrival, you will not regret it 🙂”

Elena, August 2021

“If you are looking for a great place to stay on the island then book here.
Spotless…. I mean really really clean! So peaceful in a lovely location just perfect.
We were a family of 3 staying but I know that Sharon is building another large cottage that will sleep 6 with a hot tub so if you need more room ask her about that one.”

Stacey, August 2021

“Warm and welcoming environment, cosy and comfortable annex with all essentials including pots, pans, and little extras such coffee, tea, sugar, milk, eggs and croissants. sleeps 3 comfortably, central location, beautiful scenery, and amazing play area for children, with lots of small animals such as chickens and rabbits, and stable ponies! Suitable for families, close by to prime locations within the island. Sharon is a very good host, and is very attentive with great communication and is incredibly kind and friendly! We will be returning!”

Richard, August 2021

“This was a cozy place to stay. Everything was clean and there a good range of essential cooking equipment etc. We very much enjoyed seeing the animals. Thank you to Sharon for being a friendly host. We had a lovely holiday.”

Rachel, August 2021

“If you are looking for a great place to stay on the island then book here. Spotless…. I mean really really clean! So peaceful in a lovely location just perfect. We were a family of 3 staying but I know that Sharon is building another large cottage that will sleep 6 with a hot tub so if you need more room ask her about that one.”

August 2021

“Beautiful country location. The kids loved it, especially the play area and interacting with the animals. Location is great, and short drive to main activities. Plenty of beaches to choose from. The white lion pub down the road offers excellent food. Great place to unwind and relax. Cottage was very clean and had all things needed for great holiday. Sharon and Husband are excellent host, had lovely welcome hamper waiting for us. Most definitely recommend to stay at. I will be rebooking for next school holidays.”

Gesina, August 2021

“We stayed with Sharon for a week at the Hillside Farm Retreat which was very clean and homely. We stayed with my daughter and our dog Luna.
We booked a week with exceptionally hot weather every day which meant that the accommodation was very hot as all the windows faced the sun. We kept the shutters closed throughout the day to keep most of the heat out and opened the windows at night.
The accommodation seemed newly decorated with a good shower although it was a little cosy with the 3 of us and the dog at times.
The play area was brilliant and my daughter loved the chickens, bunny, guinea pigs and ponies.
Parking wasn’t an issue as there was a designated space.
We broke one of the dog bowls on the way down but Sharon was able to lend one to us as a spare which was really helpful.
The welcome package was also a lovely touch and included some treats for our dog as well to make us feel at home.
Thank you Sharon for a lovely stay.”

Sarah, July 2021

“Hillside Retreat is a great location from which to explore the island. There are local pubs and eateries and the countryside is literally on your doorstep.
The cottage is as described and Sharon is a helpful, thoughtful and knowledgeable host. The welcome pack is a lovely extra and even included some treats for the four legged member of our family!!”

Kathy, July 2021

“Sharon’s place was a lovely neat little cottage on the farm. Our family including our dog and our 1 year old son loved the farm and the play area. The bed was nice and firm and although the kitchen was small in size, it was very well stocked with nice clean and usable kitchen utensils and pots and pans unlike most airbnb places”

Amy, June 2021

“A comfortable little bolt hole in a beautiful part of the island, which was really clean and tidy. Only 5 minutes from Blackgang Chine and 10 from Ventnor. Sharon was helpful and friendly.
Our 3 year old loved feeding the chickens and jumping on the trampoline.

Has everything you need for a few days. The only thing we found was that it was quite hot for sleeping as the annexe retains all the heat from the day, even with shutters closed. It’s also a shame that there is no view from the annexe itself as the surrounding countryside is beautiful!”

Emma, June 2021

“Sparkling clean and convenient to attractions on IoW. Sharon is quite thoughtful throughout the stay. My son Love the farm animals and trampoline so much.”

Li, May 2021

“Sparkling clean and convenient to attractions on IoW. Sharon is quite thoughtful throughout the stay. My son Love the farm animals and trampoline so much.”

May 2021

“Our stay at Sharon and Johns was the perfect break. We found a really clean and comfortable appartement with great appliances. Sharon and John made us feel very welcome and were always around if we needed something. Our 3 year old son loved the well equipped and safe play area and all the animals. It made for a very relaxing stay.
The farm is situated near the most beautiful beaches of the island and features some gorgeous walks. We can only recommend it.
Thank you for a great week.”

Yolanda, Apil

“We had a great stay at this lovely little holiday cottage. It was very well appointed and Sharon was very welcoming.”

Tom, December 2020

“Lovely place, everything was as we’d hoped. Sharon was very friendly and helpful suggesting places for us to visit on the island. We had a great time, thanks!”

Harry, December 2020

“You will find a spotlessly clean, well equipped, comfy homely abode for your temporary stay. We stayed in November so it was obviously colder than the summer months, but on returning after your day out it was lovely to return to a warm cozy place as it has underfloor heating.

It is equipped with oven, fridge freezer, microwave oven, tv, iron/board, hairdryer, spare blanket for the very comfy bed etc. There are board games for the evening in the drawer. Sharon and John leave a nice little welcome package of milk, croissants jam and butter etc. The tap water is lovely and cold for drinking which I found great as I drink a lot. The shower is equipped with a multi setting head.

There is a beauty salon that Sharon runs, and you can book treatments ahead of your stay. There is an outdoor trunk with separate bags in it to enable you to recycle which is great. The accommodation is set in a very quite area and is so peaceful when you wake up.

Sharon and John are very nice people and are accommodating and are there to answer any questions you may have. You will certainly enjoy your stay. We will definitely return, maybe with the grandchildren next time.”

Michael, November 2020

“Self contained accommodation which is clean and warm. Quiet location. Good for long walks across the Downs (weather permitting). 5 minutes drive to village that has pub and shop. Friendly and helpful host.”

Poly, November 2020

“Great little place. Ideal for one child and 2 adults. Very clean and warm. Lovely little small holding with ponies, and chickens. Lots of lovely pubs and villages about. Definitely the best part of the Isle. Highly recommend.”

Coral, October 2020

“A lovely little flat, on the farm, rural and peaceful. Fully equipped kitchen with lots of nice little extras and essentials like milk, oil, pepper etc provided. Very comfortable and clean – the only one complaning was our dog who was disappointed with having to sleep on the floor but the amazing scenery for walks right on thd doorstep more then made up for it =) Highly recommended.”

Veronica, October 2020

“Sharon is a wonderful host and she has ensured little hampers. The communication was amazing. She even allowed us one hour earlier to accommodate our little ones napping needs. The space is wonderful with farm animals and children’s play area. The hosts met us and we’re so helpful suggesting the local restaurants and attractions. Definitely recommended”

Sam, October 2020

“We had a lovely stay here for my husbands 50th. The place is just the right size for a short stay. The bed was comfy and the kitchen was fully equipped should you want to eat in at all. (We didn’t as the pub nearly was great as was Joe’s bar and only a short walk away). Sharon and her husband were very friendly and welcoming. The area around here is beautiful and we had some lovely walks and I even saw my first red squirrel! Our puppy loved it too. Sharon also runs a beauty business on site and I had booked my husband a birthday treat of a back and shoulder massage on his birthday which he said was needed and was excellent. I would recommend staying here it has all you need for enjoyable break away.”

Melody, October 2020

“A lovely little flat, on the farm, rural and peaceful. Fully equipped kitchen with lots of nice little extras and essentials like milk, oil, pepper etc provided. Very comfortable and clean – the only one complaining was our dog who was disappointed with having to sleep on the floor but the amazing scenery for walks right on the doorstep more then made up for it =) Highly recommended.”

October 2020

“A very quiet location with stunning surroundings and views . Quick and easy walk to the village and public footpaths and horse riding on the doorstep .”

Nicole, September 2020

“A pleasent out of the way experience next to an absolutely lovely village. The accommodation is incredibly cosy, we had such a lovely time, the bed was comfy, the living room and kitchen were comfy as well. The animals weren’t scared of us and were friendly. It was a very pleasant experience.”

Sean, September 2020

“We stayed at Hillside retreat for 4 nights with a 6 month old puppy. The place is lovely and clean with everything you need, more spacious than it seems in the photos. Sharon had left us with a little welcome package of milk, crossaints etc and dog treats which was a nice touch 😊 they were around to handif we needed them and so helpful with walk tips etc. Would definitely stay here again, lovely hosts and we had a fantastic time. Thank you”

Kayley, September 2020

“The lodge was absolutely beautiful and perfect for a long weekend away! I was worried about going away in the current climate but the whole place was spotless and felt really clean and safe. It is in a quiet location surrounded by beautiful downs and had every amenity we needed for the perfect trip. Can’t thank Sharon enough :)”

Rachel, September 2020

“Highly recommended. Clean and tidy. Very quiet place.”

Paulina, September 2020

“Absolutely lovely stay, everything we needed and more. The welcome food hamper was most thoughful. Definitely will stay again on our next visit to IOW.”

Sharon, September 2020

“This is a lovely little spot in the south of the Isle of Wight. Hosts were friendly and helpful but also respectful of our privacy. The children’s play area was really useful for those with children and the chickens roaming around also great for kids. The apartment was lovely and clean with enough space for the 3 of us. The welcome gift of wine, croissants etc was a great touch. This makes an excellent base for exploring the Isle of Wight.”

Sarah, September 2020

“My family and I did not get to travel abroad to see our extended family this summer because of the pandemic – but staying at Sharon’s felt like visiting family: attentive and helpful and always close by if we had any questions or needs. The place was comfy and clean, and we loved the personal touches of homemade jam and hen eggs on arrival. Location is great; well situated to get around and visit some wonderful sites and coastal paths. A super added bonus is Sharon’s beauty retreat next door – there are so many treatments on offer. My girlfriend tells me the facial was divine and perfect on a rainy day when we weren’t touring or heading to the seaside. Highly recommended and will visit again.”

Juan, August 2020

“Perfect location which is easy to reach to all areas of the island. Perfect setting for a young family with an amazing child play area, super fiendly horses, cats and dog. beautifully designed apartment with all you can need kitchen facilities. Great walk into the countryside, great hosts, not a whole lot more that you could ask for, most certainly would recommend and will be back soon.”

James, August 2020

“This was the perfect place to stay for a holiday filled with beach hopping. The play area was a lovely surprise for my 3 year old and the space was so clean, comfortable and generously resourced.
I would thoroughly recommend this place and look forward to returning next year.”

Rachel, August 2020

“A great stay with Sharon. Great location and garden space was ideal with a child. Great location for getting around the Island.”

Hannah, August 2020

“The accommodation is excellent and maintained to a high standard. The location is excellent for exploring the island and a short drive to Black Gang Chine, Godshill and the village centre of Niton where there are two pubs serving food and a large local convenience shop. The views are stunning and our 2 year old daughter loved the playhouse, toys and trampoline. The setting is very quiet and peaceful without feeling isolated. Would highly recommend as a base for exploring the whole island.”

Steve, August 2020

“Fantastic stay! Felt like home, with everything you need”
Chloe, July 2020

“Great location and hosts. Beautiful accommodation and really quiet. Lovely food at the local pub and a local shop a few minutes away. Close to some lovely beaches.”

Alison, July 2020

“Great and quite location, House is much better than expected, very clean and perfect place to spend a relax weekend. Highly recommended.”

Alba, March 2020

“Sharon has been a wonderful host during our trip and her husband was a very helpful man who offered to drive us to the shop on bad weather and was always around to help with anything we needed.
Sharon is a great massage therapist who made me feel like a new born after the treatment. We are hoping to come back in the summer to spend more on the fields and of course, be around the 2 beautiful cheeky ponies they have.”

Oanna, March 2020

“Lovely little place, very helpful hosts. Conveniently located particularly for attractions on the south of the island.”

David, February 2020

“Perfectly clean space for two in a lovely village with great hosts.”

Freddie, January 2020

“We stayed at Sharon’s cottage over the Christmas period with our dog and had a fabulous time. They are situated in a fairly rural setting and high up on a hill. Sharon is very knowledgeable and supplied us with plenty of suggestions on where to walk and find the best places to eat. The cottage is just as described, lovely and warm, fully kitted out with very comfortable furniture and fittings. Great wi-fi connection and a lovely welcome pack to settle us in.”

Janet, December 2019

“Neat, tidy with very considerate hosts. Everything we could have asked for, a lovely short stay.”

Ben, December 2019

“Hillside retreat was exactly what we were looking for. Dog friendly, baby friendly and adult friendly! A stylish space with a comfortable bed and great heating! Great for long country walks and very quiet surroundings. Sharon is an excellent host and the welcoming touches were very thoughtful. Fresh chicken eggs were a real treat!”

Edward, November 2019

“The apartment was very lovely, homely and clean. It had everything you need to have a lovely stay, with extra thought such as eggs from the chickens, milk, bread and wine.
The apartment is in such a good location close to many tourist destinations but also great for walking your dog. We brought our 1 year old cocker spaniel who loved going on the walks through the fields and National trust trails. The apartment was also great for our dog as there is a hose, dog poo bin and other things you need for your day to day routine with your dog.
Would definitely stay here again and we recommend it to anyone looking for a lovely peaceful break in the Isle of Wight country side!”

Samuel, October 2019

“We enjoyed our stay in Niton, it made a great base for exploring the Isle Of Wight. The house is very clean and well equipped. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again!”

Martin, September 2019

“A last minute booking to stay on the island. A good, clean property, just a little outside of the village of Niton.”

Nadia, September 2019

“This is a lovely barn conversion in a lovely part of the island. Niton is 3 minutes in the car with a lovely pub. Ventnor 10-15 minutes away with everything you’ll need. Loads to see and do. Would highly recommend this property.”

Christopher, September 2019

“Absolutely Fabulous
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
This place is amazing! The cosiness and functionality of the place is perfect for a short break.
The self contained flat comes with a full kitchen with everything you could need. Even eggs from the farm! 🥚🐔
The TV has streaming services (e.g. Netflix, Amazon Prime) alongaide free sat. The WiFi is great, so streaming isn’t a problem! 😁👌
The bathroom is modern with a spacious shower. It has a skylight, so it’s always bright! ☀️ The bathroom also has a razor/toothbrush plug which is a bonus!
The bedroom is cosy, with all the storage you could need. The bed is very comfy and a flufyy blanket is provided for those who prefer a lighter covering. 😊
As for the location of the place. It’s very peaceful. Ventnor is only an 8 minute drive away so the beach and shopping amenities are very close. No activity has ever been more than a 30 minute drive away. ❤️
I will definitely be recommending this place to my family and friends :)”

Kirsty, September 2019

“Great stay. Had everything we needed. Welcomed the dog which was lovely!!

It was very windy, so they took down the shutters as they were nosey- which was really lovely.”

Amy, September 2019

“We had a great weeks holiday at Sharon & Johns. Everything was spotless and a great fitted out kitchen with everything you could ask for. The area is very centrally located for all parts of the island with lovely swimming bays dotted round about. Quiet at night. Great walks on your doorstep. lovely meeting all the animals and ponies. Sharon and John were great hosts. Thank you Sharon & John hope to be back sometime in the future.”

Michael, August 2019

“A very warm welcome, immaculate facilities, some lovely local produces as welcoming touches, great play facilities for our two year old and lots of animals to look at and pet. We really enjoyed our stay. David and Mandy are super hosts!”

Antonia, August 2019

“Sharon’s place is a lovely house to stay to explore the Isle of Wight from. It’s in the centre/south of the island. It’s a self-contained flat with a double bed and cooking facilities: it doesn’t have a microwave but does have a 2 ring electric hob, 2 ovens and a toaster, and a fridge and freezer. It has a smart TV and a decent speed broadband wifi connection. There is no direct access to a washing machine but Sharon did a load of washing as a service wash for us for £10. The highlight for us was the facilities for our 3 year old – Sharon keeps 2 ponies and some chickens and even got the chickens out for our daughter to stroke. There is a trampoline buried into the ground and a wendy house/shed which she loved playing in. It’s a good place to stay for a small young family.”

Andrew, August 2019

“We had a lovely stay! A quiet country location with great walks and views. Very friendly host with good communication. The accommodation was cosy, warm and nicely appointed with everything we needed. Overall we had a great trip!”

Julia, August 2019

“A very warm welcome, immaculate facilities, some lovely local produces as welcoming touches, great play facilities for our two year old and lots of animals to look at and pet. We really enjoyed our stay. David and Mandy are super hosts!”

Sarah, August 2019

“We had a lovely time staying at Hillside Retreat. The accommodation was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. The location is quiet and relaxing. Our 2 year old son had a great time playing on the trampoline and with the toys available. He also loved seeing the chickens and ponies. Sharon was so friendly and helpful and had lots of great tips for places to go etc. We’d love to return sometime! Highly recommend!”

Tom, July 2019